|| Vinuravema ||

Vemana(16th cent. AD) was one of the most famous native Telugu poets and philosophers who is/was specially popular among young Telugu studying children in school as most of his poems were the first doses of Telugu philosophy and literature to them. The poems usually consist of four lines. They end with the signature line “Viswadhaabhi Raama, Vinura Vema”, literally meaning, “O Beloved of Vishwadha, listen to Vema!” His poems are known for their simple use of the language, words which the common man can understand and usually revolve around social, wisdom and moral topics.
I remember the Vemana poems which were taught to me in school and how my grandfather used to recite them to me with their meanings. I love the Telugu language and the script and make it a point to write, scribble or doodle in it whenever I get a chance. One of his most famous poems –

vinuravema_poem

which means

Salt and camphor, though they look alike, they are different in taste and properties. Likewise, among men, virtuous people stand apart. O Beloved of Vishwadha, listen to Vema!

So, ‘vinuravema‘ translates to ‘Listen to Vemana‘ 🙂


Leave a comment